It's easy to talk to someone and best of all, it’s confidential!

It feels good!

About Us

Distress Centre Calgary (DCC) has provided 24-hour crisis support in Calgary and southern Alberta since 1970. We do this through our 24-hour crisis line, email, daily chat, and daily text for our youth. We also have professional counselling for clients with issues that cannot be resolved over the phone. If you need help finding a social, community or government service, 211 is available by phone and online chat. Our Coordinated Access and Assessment (CAA) program serves Calgarians experiencing homelessness out of the Safe Communities Opportunity and Resource Centre (SORCe). All of our services are free.

We do not define crisis.  We do not judge. Anyone can call us day or night.

Mission: Provide compassionate, accessible crisis support that enhances the health, well-being and resiliency of individuals in distress.

Vision: Everyone is heard.

Values: Accessibility, Collaboration, Compassion, Excellence, Inclusivity, Innovation, Leadership, Partnerships, Respect, Volunteerism


Jerilyn Dressler

Executive Director

Jerilyn Dressler began her work with Distress Centre as a crisis line volunteer from 2001-2003, before completing her Bachelor of Arts in psychology at the University of Saskatchewan in 2007. Upon returning to Calgary she rejoined the Distress Centre team, providing professional support for crisis line volunteers. In 2015, Jerilyn completed her Masters of Social Work with a specialization in Leadership in the Human Services.

At the national level, Jerilyn sits on the InformCanada board which provides leadership and guidance in the field of information and referral. Jerilyn is an authentic, collaborative, and transformative leader who brings her passion and vision to every team and project she is a part of.


Robyn Romano

Director of Operations

Bing Hu

Chief Financial Officer

Diane Jones Konihowski, C.M. B.Ed. LLD (Honorary)

Director, Fund Development & Communications

Duane Gillissie

Director of Programs at SORCe


Chloe McBean

211 Program Manager

David Kirby

Clinical Services Manager

Roxanne Cote

Resource Development Manager

Mike Velthius Kroeze

Crisis Program Manager

Board of Directors

Distress Centre Calgary is governed by an exemplary group of volunteers who make up the Board of Directors. They bring exceptional skills, vision and experience from a variety backgrounds to lead strategic direction, governance and fiduciary accountability. The Board is committed to ensuring Distress Centre remains an accessible, innovative and compassionate agency that delivers excellent service to our clients and continues to meet the emerging needs of our community.

Board of Directors 2019-2020


  • Janet Segato, Chair – SAIT
  • Sandy Pound, Vice Chair – RBC
  • Emilie Johnson, Vice Chair – Heidrick & Struggles
  • Duncan Melville, Treasurer – The Boston Consulting Group


  • Brad Regier – Clark Builders
  • Barbara Revay
  • Beth Pollock – Gibson Energy
  • Shauna Moscovich – Moscovich Strategy and Research Consulting
  • Tonino Rizzuti – ENMAX
  • Michael Sclafani – University of Calgary
  • Linda Dietsche – Tervita
  • Amanda Kousiniouris – Enerflex Ltd.

Our 2019-2020 Board of Directors with Executive Director, Jerilyn Dressler.

Our Impact Funders: